Committee

The Edinburgh University Music Society is a self-governing student society managed by the conductors and an annually appointed committee of members. Each of the three ensembles is run by their respective Managers and the Society’s finances are managed by the Treasurer.

The Mission of the Edinburgh University Music Society is the encouragement and promotion of music throughout the University of Edinburgh and the wider community.

The society is run by an elected group of seventeen members known as the committee. These include our office bearers (the President, Secretary and Treasurer), Ensemble Managers and Librarians, Publicity Managers, Social Secretaries, Community Outreach Manager, Tour Manager, Ordinary Member and our Sponsorship and Alumni Manager. Though the committee lead the organisation of the Society and its events, all members are encouraged to get involved, and many of our additional activities are organised by non-committee members.

To keep up to date with society goings-on and to have your say, join our Members’ Facebook group.

The following people were elected into their respective committee positions at the Annual General Meeting held on the 30th of March 2020:

Izzy HenryPresidentpresident@eums.org.uk
Benni Buchenau
Secretarysecretary@eums.org.uk
Laura RitterTreasurertreasurer@eums.org.uk
Fionnuala Marshall
Chorus Managerchorus@eums.org.uk
 Waywen Loh
Chorus Librarianchorus.librarian@eums.org.uk
Rhys Williams
Sinfonia Managersinfonia@eums.org.uk
Elizabeth Ho
Sinfonia Librariansinfonia.librarian@eums.org.uk
Nathalie WeibelSymphony Managersymphony@eums.org.uk
James Doherty
Symphony Librariansymphony.librarian@eums.org.uk
Emily Jacobs
Social Secretarysocial@eums.org.uk
Thea Reedman
Social Secretarysocial@eums.org.uk
Miranda Kuyk
Publicity Managerpublicity@eums.org.uk
Ioana Băltăreţu
Publicity Managerpublicity@eums.org.uk
Lewis Forbes
Tour Managertour@eums.org.uk
Tim EspinCommunity Outreach Managercommunity@eums.org.uk
Jonathan McCartney Sponsorship and Alumni Managersponsorship@eums.org.uk
Sofia Martinez AlvarezOrdinary Memberordinary@eums.org.uk

The society is run according to laws defined by the EUMS Constitution, a copy of which can be found here.

The following people were elected into their respective committee positions at the Annual General Meeting held on the 29th March 2019:

Margaret RentonPresidentpresident@eums.org.uk
Ioana BăltăreţuSecretarysecretary@eums.org.uk
Andrew McCroskieTreasurertreasurer@eums.org.uk
Izzy HenryChorus Managerchorus@eums.org.uk
Laura RitterChorus Librarianchorus.librarian@eums.org.uk
Jack LawSinfonia Managersinfonia@eums.org.uk
Lissie CookSinfonia Librariansinfonia.librarian@eums.org.uk
Arno Von KietzellSymphony Managersymphony@eums.org.uk
Nathalie WeibelSymphony Librariansymphony.librarian@eums.org.uk
Cecilia HoracekSocial Secretarysocial@eums.org.uk
Mary O’BrianSocial Secretarysocial@eums.org.uk
Lisa ShieldsPublicity Managerpublicity@eums.org.uk
TBCPublicity Managerpublicity@eums.org.uk
Ella OgilivyTour Managertour@eums.org.uk
Tim EspinCommunity Outreach Managercommunity@eums.org.uk
TBCOrdinary Memberordinary@eums.org.uk

The society is run according to laws defined by the EUMS Constitution, a copy of which can be found here.