The Edinburgh University Music Society is a self-governing student society managed by the conductors and an annually appointed committee of members. Each of the three ensembles is run by their respective Managers and the Society’s finances are managed by the Treasurer.

The Mission of the Edinburgh University Music Society is the encouragement and promotion of music throughout the University of Edinburgh and the wider community.

The society is run by an elected group of sixteen members known as the committee. These include our office bearers (the President, Secretary and Treasurer), Ensemble Managers and Librarians, Publicity Managers, Social Secretaries, Community Outreach Manager, Tour Manager and our Sponsorship and Alumni Manager. Though the committee lead the organisation of the Society and its events, all members are encouraged to get involved, and many of our additional activities are organised by non-committee members.

To keep up to date with society goings-on and to have your say, join our Members’ Facebook group.

The following persons were elected into their respective committee positions at the Annual General Meeting held on the 26th March 2017:

Elizabeth Wells President
Flynn Le Brocq Secretary
Jan Kleczkowski Treasurer
Harry Garrood Chorus Manager
Áine Cassidy Chorus Librarian
Mrithula Shivakumar Sinfonia Manager
Lucy Gray Sinfonia Librarian
Lois Boa Symphony Manager
Beth Appelquist Symphony Librarian
Adrian Cumming Social Secretary
Hibiki Kono Social Secretary
Liberty Emeny Publicity Manager
Matt Purslow Publicity Manager
Sally Carr Tour Manager
Martin Scullion Sponsorship and Alumni Manager
Marie Anderson Community Outreach Manager


The society is run according to laws defined by the EUMS Constitution, a copy of which can be found here.