Committee

The Edinburgh University Music Society is a self-governing student society managed by the conductors and an annually appointed committee of members. Each of the three ensembles is run by their respective Managers and the Society’s finances are managed by the Treasurer.

The Mission of the Edinburgh University Music Society is the encouragement and promotion of music throughout the University of Edinburgh and the wider community.

The society is run by an elected group of seventeen members known as the committee. These include our office bearers (the President, Secretary and Treasurer), Ensemble Managers and Librarians, Publicity Managers, Social Secretaries, Community Outreach Manager, Tour Manager, Ordinary Member and our Sponsorship and Alumni Manager. Though the committee lead the organisation of the Society and its events, all members are encouraged to get involved, and many of our additional activities are organised by non-committee members.

To keep up to date with society goings-on and to have your say, join our Members’ Facebook group.

The following persons were elected into their respective committee positions at the Annual General Meeting held on the 29th March 2018:

Lois Boa President president@eums.org.uk
Lucy Gray Secretary secretary@eums.org.uk
Mrithula Shivakumar Treasurer treasurer@eums.org.uk
Àine Cassidy Chorus Manager chorus@eums.org.uk
Miranda Kuyk Chorus Librarian chorus.librarian@eums.org.uk
Helena Man Sinfonia Manager sinfonia@eums.org.uk
Jack Law Sinfonia Librarian sinfonia.librarian@eums.org.uk
Laura McFarlane Symphony Manager symphony@eums.org.uk
Ella Ogilvy Symphony Librarian symphony.librarian@eums.org.uk
Margaret Renton Social Secretary social@eums.org.uk
Andrew McCroskie Social Secretary social@eums.org.uk
Liberty Emeny Publicity Manager publicity@eums.org.uk
Gesina Menz Publicity Manager publicity@eums.org.uk
To be elected * Tour Manager tour@eums.org.uk
Arthur Carr Sponsorship and Alumni Manager sponsorship@eums.org.uk
alumni@eums.org.uk
Rebecca Coffey Community Outreach Manager community@eums.org.uk
To be elected ** Ordinary Member ordinary@eums.org.uk

 

The society is run according to laws defined by the EUMS Constitution, a copy of which can be found here.

 

*  This position will be filled at an EGM at a later date (TBD).

** This position will be filled at an EGM in September 2018.